top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenny DeKraker

Life Lately

I don't exactly have any big topics to discuss. You've gotten to know the bigger parts of my life and now I just get to talk about normal every day things! Therefore, let's begin!


My devo today was titled "Realigning Your Thoughts." My devotional is Christine Caine's Unshakeable devotional by the way. I love it! It's so good and easy to read. But anyways, back to the point. We all wake up and hope our devotional speaks directly to us and applies to our current situation perfectly. But sometimes it doesn't always work out like that. Sometimes we have to read between the lines for everything to make sense.


"Realigning Your Thoughts," hmmm...what is that supposed to mean exactly? I read through it and studied it, line for line. And what I came to realize is that my thoughts haven't been so positive lately. I got turned down for a job that I really wanted, I have been getting pretty bad headaches recently which led into me finding out that I have to wear my glasses all the time, and I have been trying to plan out what my life would look like in the next year. Like I said, I can only handle so much change at one time. And, to be honest, I haven't had the best mindset when it comes to how I see myself either, I haven't had a good mindset about that in quite awhile.


How sad is that? That we criticize how God made us? How we look, our personalities, where God has placed us in this season of life, etc.

In my devotional this morning, it led me back to Phil. 4:8

"Whatever is true, whatever is pure, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable-if anything is excellent or praiseworthy- think about such things."

And I just think that that piece of scripture is so beautiful.


To be honest, I just haven't felt like myself lately. I feel like my faith and patience has been tested a lot within the last month or so. Everyone sees me as always being happy and positive, but I kind of just feel tired and "blah" you know? But today has been a good day already! I started off my day with some avocado toast, iced coffee and with my best friend in the entire world telling me that she will be coming home this weekend! I feel like focusing on the little things has helped me to get out of my funk!


God doesn't always work in big, beautiful grand gestures. He also works in the tiniest of nitty gritty details of our days and I am slowly catching myself noticing those little things more and more each day. If you have nothing that you are looking forward to and struggling to find happiness lately, just think of it this way. You woke up this morning, which means that God still wants to use you and has a purpose for your life. Wake up a little early to make your favorite breakfast, or to run to your favorite coffee shop and get yourself a treat before work, or just to watch the sunrise a little bit. Take time to appreciate the things that you have while you still have them.


Thanks for letting me be real and authentic,


XX

Just Jenny


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page